The Service Times Are A’ Changin’

Don’t know what your church services are like (or if you even attend), but we used to have a lot of fun at Mariners in Irvine when I was there. They probably still do…

I’ve received a few requests lately for some of my “sacred satire” material, musical and otherwise, so I thought I’d drop a few video and/or audio samples into “Get it. Got it. Good.” from time to time.

Here’s one of the most requested: My take on Bob Dylan’s “The Times Are A’ Changin'” from 2004. All for a good cause.

A little background: We’d recently completed construction on a new worship center (which conveniently would hold more people) and new children’s building (nicknamed “Port Mariners” for it’s nautical theme), allowing us to go from three Sunday services to two. Our 5:00 pm Saturday service stayed the same. Parking and traffic patterns were altered with the construction, and that needed to be communicated as well. So with all that in mind, I wrote and performed this the weekend we announced our Sunday service times were changing from 8:30, 10:00, and 11:30 to 9:00 and 11:00.

PS: I’d just bought the harmonica the day before and given myself a crash course. When I said “those are the only five notes I know” during the song, it was pretty accurate.

PPS: Mariners has since added a second Saturday night service, so “5, 9 & 11” wasn’t “written in stone” after all.

craig hodgkins

Check out some of my other “Sacred Satire” videos HERE.

~ by Craig Hodgkins on August 22, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Service Times Are A’ Changin’”

  1. Hello daddy-o. Nice video- I can’t believe that was all the way back from 2004. That seems so…old.

  2. Still one of my favorites!

  3. Love this! I will be checking out the blog over coming weeks. So you’re in OC?

  4. Thank you! Please do. Yes.

Leave a Reply

 
