My Favorites: A Year of GIGIG Posts

Tomorrow (July 10) marks one year since I started this blog, and the experience has exceeded my expectations in more ways than one. First, I’ve had a great time writing these short posts/essays. Second, I’ve met some wonderful people interested in some of the same obscure things I am. And third, the numbers have amazed me. Believe it or not, this little blog o’ mine has had more than 40,000 visits and 55,000+ page views this past year, many from unexpected sources.

Speaking of unexpected, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the scores of iCarly fans who visit here daily to look at, click on, and undoubtedly “borrow” photos of show co-star Jennette McCurdy (Sam), who in real life is a friend of my two daughters. We had a small party at our house when the show premiered on Nickelodeon (we had no idea it would be such a hit), and I wrote a short post about it with some nutty photos of Emily, Erin and Jennette. Later, I ran an interview with Jennette that Emily wrote for her Junior High paper, and those two posts are consistently my most visited. Even the comments her ‘tween fans leave for her are a hoot.

Close behind Jennette on the GIGIG popularity scale are two stars of another generation: Mary Costa (the international opera star and voice of Princess Aurora in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty) and Don Adams, better known as Maxwell Smart, the original secret Agent 86 from the 1960s TV sensation, Get Smart. I got to know Mary well through a series of events I did with her for Disney, and she is a wonderful lady. Unfortunately, I never met Don Adams, who passed away in 2005. Missed him by “that much.”

But whether I was waxing lyrical about Dick Lane or Dean Martin, LBJ or the ’68 Nixon, Fess Parker or Frank Fenton, folk music or family traditions, I’ve had a great time. So, to commemorate my 365 days in the blogosphere, here’s a list of my Top Ten posts. These aren’t necessarily my most popular, just ones I’m proud of for various reasons.

First off, a link to my personal favorite:

Here are links to my Top Ten, in no particular order:

If you’re still with me, thanks, but that’s all for now.

I have to start thinking about Year 2.

craig hodgkins

~ by Craig Hodgkins on July 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “My Favorites: A Year of GIGIG Posts”

  1. Happy Blogiversary, Craig! The blog world is a much more informed and articulate place since you joined it. I think my favorite post was your “How I satisfied my wife” one. Though truthfully I can’t say I’ve read them all… you DO go on. 😉 love ya, friend!

  2. Thanks for the kind words, Jan, especially since you are a major reason I’m clogging up the blogosphere with my “short” essays!

Leave a Reply

 
