Why I Love My Kids Today

I was just enjoying my morning coffee and checking out my fantasy football lineup (still cautiously optimistic about my title hopes) before the day gets too crazy, when my mind drifted off to thoughts of why I love my kids. There must be a million reasons, but these are the ones which struck me today:

I love Eric (who is 4) because he rarely wakes up cranky, he always runs out to greet me with a hug when I pull into the driveway after work (and he always offers to carry my travel coffee mug into the house). He is an incredible mimic, and has a great sense of humor. He can hit a ball a mile, and throw a spiral across the lawn, but more importantly, he may be the nicest boy on the planet, and he makes me glad to be alive.

I love Erin (who is 10) because she goes at life 100%, because she knows how to be a great friend, and because she always has a good morning and a goodnight hug set aside for me. She loves to laugh, and we laugh a lot at our house. She is a great card player (we haven’t had to “let” her win for years), a naturally gifted and powerful ice skater, and is surprisingly normal for a middle child (I’m one, and I’m not).

I love Emily (who is 13) because she works at stuff that doesn’t come easy (it’s a short list), and because she likes to discuss writing, plot and story structure with me. I admire her desire to learn and know things (she out-reads me 4 books to 1 these days), and how she has become a wonderfully graceful ice skater. I love our tradition of playing every Nancy Drew computer game (by HER Interactive) together, and that she likes to watch DVD episodes of Route 66 and Wild, Wild West (most recently) with her mom and me at night.

On the negative side, none of them are left-handed, so I don’t know what they’re going to do with my three baseball gloves, four guitars, two ukeleles and tenor banjo when I’m gone. But I guess that’ll be their problem, not mine.

I’ll probably have fifty different reasons to love them tomorrow, and I’m thankful for that as well.

craig hodgkins

~ by Craig Hodgkins on November 11, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
