Ice Skating and the Parental Math Property

This afternoon at 2 p.m., we loaded up the Expedition and headed down to La Jolla (think north San Diego) for an Ice Skating Competition. Even though my daughters didn’t enter this one as individuals, their synchronized team — The Mystique — had chosen to take part. So off we went.

Three hours and 85 miles later (yes, you read that correctly), we arrived at the rink, just in time for the girls to change, check in and hang out with the team. And, when the team hit the ice at 6:30, we were there to cheer them on, as well as the other teams from our local rink.

The girls skated wonderfully, and took first place, an experience followed by big cheers, high-fives…even a little trash talk. And that was just among the parents.

A little later, during dinner, I did the math in my head, and mentioned the broad differential between driving three hours and skating for three minutes to my wife. She just smiled that wonderful smile, which made me think we probably didn’t need to discuss it any further.

Later, while driving home, the Parental Math Property came to me very clearly, which got my attention because math properties are not known to show up in my head, like…ever. Simply put, the numbers added in today stand a great chance to grow exponentially, and the hours spent on the smallest things will add tremendous value in the future.

Maybe my wife was simply beaming it over to me from the next seat, since I’m sure she’d already gotten it a long time ago. Math was never my strong suit, but I sure like being a Dad.

craig hodgkins

~ by Craig Hodgkins on August 18, 2007.

2 Responses to “Ice Skating and the Parental Math Property”

  1. Best post so far. Awesome! JG

  2. Thanks, JG. I know you guys are on to the Parental Math Property too.

Leave a Reply

 
